Once used as nurse’s barracks during World War II, the structure was broken down, relocated & melded back together. With its silvery aluminum roof shining in the sunlight below Mount Superior, the Peruvian was born.
Constructed over six decades ago, the Peruvian originated as two World War II barracks that were sliced into four parts & hauled up the steep Little Cottonwood Canyon to Alta, Utah. Lead by Ed Gibbs, the barracks were reconstructed, reconfigured & repurposed and placed at the base of the Alta Ski area. By the ski season of 1948, the Peruvian was open.
Founded around 1865, Alta first served as an old mining town. The mining business boomed in the early 1870’s and a variety of settlements were established in the canyon area. In the late 1880’s, an expansive fire and devastating avalanche destroyed most of the original town leaving Alta a ghost town.
Who We Are
Purchased in 1970 by John Cahill, the Peruvian received a well-deserved facelift and upgrades to the facilities.
Today the Peruvian is a well-known Alta landmark and has evolved into a charming and authentic ski lodge that offers excellent food, warm pools and great staff. It’s just who we are.